left right

Grand Slam of Darts 2017 Betting Tips and Predictions

Phil Taylor

The PDC and BDO come face-to-face in the Grand Slam of Darts 2017 – a 32-player, cross-code event held at Wolverhampton Civic Hall – 24 qualifiers from the Professional Darts Corporation and 8 from the British Darts Organisation will do battle over nine days, live on Sky Sports. Check out all of our betting tips and predictions below.

£30 Darts Deposit Bonus!

+ £10 Free Bet Every Week
New customers only. T&Cs apply, 18+, begambleaware.org

Grand Slam of Darts 2017 Predictions

As this is a seeded event, the groups initially look pretty clear cut in terms of winners and qualifiers but each year this tournament tends to throw up a few surprises early on with each code rarely getting the opportunity to play each other and the shorter format in the group phase.
Defending champion Michael van Gerwen is expected to progress comfortably from Group A with Rob Cross his only likely challenger. ‘Voltage’ is certainly a player on the up but MVG has won their last two meetings, both of which were finals for the German Grand Prix and the European Darts Final.
Group B looks simple enough for PDC pair Raymond van Barneveld and the in form Gerwyn Price as does Group C for Phil Taylor and James Wade, although ‘Kong’ Robbie Green is capable of giving the pair a run for their money if finishing well enough.

From there the predictions become a little more difficult. Daryl Gurney, another man in form, is expected to top Group D but it’s wide open for second spot between Darren Webster, Mark Webster (no relation) and Danny Noppert.
Group E is without doubt the most competitive featuring world number three Peter Wright, Alan ‘Chuck’ Norris, young Aussie sensation Corey Cadby and Glen Durrant, another who shouldn’t be underestimated as the reigning BDO champion and world number two.

Dave Chisnall is favourite to top Group F but recent form is a worry whereas, next in the betting, Stephen Bunting has shown somewhat of a resurgence in his play of late but is still quite a way below his best. This could open the door for ‘Scotty Dog’ Mitchell, a BDO World Champion two years ago, although Jeffrey de Zwaan is likely to struggle in terms of qualification.
The final two groups should be plain sailing for the PDC players with Mensur Suljovic and Michael Smith fancied to take the top two spots in Group G. James Wilson can play and Mark McGeeney is the BDC number one ranked player but it will be tough going against two very decent scorers from the stronger corporation.
‘The Flying Scotsman’ Gary Anderson and a man back at the top of his game, Simon Whitlock, should easily take care of business in Group H with Berry van Peer and Cameron Menzies extremely likely to play the whipping boys and fight it out for the £5,000 and £3,000 prize money in their own match.

Grand Slam of Darts Format

The group phase takes place over the first four days, with the top two players then progressing to compete in the knockout stages.

  • 32 players are drawn into eight groups of four for the round-robin phase and play each other once in a best of nine legs match with two points going to the winner.
  • A draw decides the first round a matches in each group.
  • The second round sees the winners of the first round go head to head with the two losers completing the stage.
  • The third round is made up of the remaining pairings who haven’t yet faced each other.
  • Points total ties between two players are decided by legs difference.
  • Pairings who are still level are decided by the winner of their group match.

There is the potential for the ever exciting nine-dart shoot-out.

  • If there is a three-way tie for top spot it goes down to legs difference.
  • Whoever comes out on top will progress.
  • The remaining players taking part in a nine-dart shoot-out. Each player throws nine darts with the highest total deemed the winner.

The knock-out phase is a much simpler format. One player progresses from each match and there can be no draws.

  • Round of 16 – Best of 19 legs
  • Quarter-finals – Best of 31 legs
  • Semi – finals – Best of 31 legs
  • Final – Best of 31 legs

Grand Slam of Darts Prize Fund

Prize money for the Grand Slam has been increased from £400,000 last season to £450,000 meaning the winner will receive an extra £10,000 this year.

  • Winner – £110,000
  • Runner-Up – £55,000
  • Semi-Finalists – £28,500
  • Quarter-Finalists – £16,000
  • Round of 16 – £10,000
  • Third in group – £5,000
  • Fourth in group – £3,000
  • Group winners bonus – £2,500

Grand Slam of Darts Groups

Click here for our Group 19/1 Winners Acca

Group A
Michael van Gerwen
Rob Cross
Joe Murnan
Ross Montgomery

Group B
Raymond van Barneveld
Gerwyn Price
Steve Lennon
Jamie Hughes

Group C
Phil Taylor
James Wade
Robbie Green
Peter Machin

Group D
Daryl Gurney
Darren Webster
Mark Webster
Danny Noppert

Group E
Peter Wright
Alan Norris
Corey Cadby
Glen Durrant

Group F
Dave Chisnall
Stephen Bunting
Jeffrey de Zwaan
Scott Mitchell

Group G
Mensur Suljovic
Michael Smith
James Wilson
Mark McGeeney

Group H
Gary Anderson
Simon Whitlock
Berry van Peer
Cameron Menzies

Click here for our 28/1 Group Qualifiers Acca

Grand Slam of Darts 2017 Betting Tips

We will have free darts betting tips including accumulators and correct score bets for every day of the competition. Just head to our free darts betting tips page or follow us on Twiter @FootySuperTips where we will let you know when all of our bets are up.

Type of Bet: Tournament Preview. Sports: Darts.
Free Bets & Offers
Betting Blog